Tags

, , , , ,

I mulled over this choice for a long time and just couldn’t pick a single poet out of the crowd.  I thought about re-reading my beloved Tennyson again, but I promised the BFF that I would try and read a poet that is still living.

While browsing through Amazon last month I found The Poet’s Corner: The One-and-Only Poetry Book for the Whole Family by John Lithgow.  While reading the reviews I discovered that there is an audiobook version narrated by John Lithgow with a lot of the poetry read by various actor like Susan Sarandon, Morgan Freeman and Helen Mirren.

This was a great choice!!!  Each poet’s little chapter was opened with a brief bio of the poet followed by one of Lithgow’s favorite poems by that poet and then other suggested poems by the same poet. Some poets had an additional poem included, the 2nd poem always being read by Lithgow.

One of the things I loved the most were the small chapters!  I think the longest chapter was only about 15 minutes long, so I always had a handy stopping point.  This also gave me just a small taste of the poets I really don’t like…I can suffer through 15 minutes of anything.

I also loved the biography aspect of this book, I got small details about poets lives I hadn’t been exposed to in the past.

This was also very kid friendly!  There wasn’t any poems that were objectionable for the soon to be 3 year old hear!!

I would highly recommend this as both a book & audiobook for anyone who needs a touch of poetry in their life! I give this a full 5 stars!

