Tags

, , , , ,

I just finished Cinder by Marissa Meyer.  It was surprisingly good.  I hate to admit it, but I’m actually going to read the 2nd book in the set and go from there.  The thing is, I didn’t think, no I didn’t WANT to like this book.  I find most YA books to be insipid and the merest shadows of the great books from my own youth.  They require no brain power to read, and don’t leave you any better then when you started, just a few hours poorer. But I found Cinder to be a refreshing twist to what I thought would just be a boring repeat of a classic, just with cell phones.

Based, of course, off of the Fairy Tale of Cinderella, Cinder is a Cyborg(for you non-SciFi folks that is a Human with mechanical body parts, usually including part of the brain) who lives in New Beijing of the Eastern Commonwealth of Earth.  There is a Prince(of course!) an evil Step Mother and an evil Queen.

I have to say I enjoyed the Sci-Fi aspect of this book!  Based in a future where the moon has been colonized and is now it’s own Country with it’s own Queen. The Lunars have also developed a bio electrical ability to manipulate and control the minds of others.

This book was a very short read(2 hours at most), but then it’s written for teenagers(short attention spans IMO) so you can’t expect too much…plus you have the whole “series” thing that all writers seem to be slightly obsessed with these days.  Heaven forbid you write a stand alone novel…but I digress.

I would give this a solid 3 1/2 out of 5 stars as I enjoyed it enough to move on to the next book in the series!

