Tags

, , , , , , ,

Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali – I’m not sure how to rate this book.  I think I will give it 3 out of 5 stars.

Written in a first person, conversational tone, Ayaan Hirsi Ali relays her personal story as an African Muslim woman as she grows up and then grows out of her Muslim up bringing.

This book made me realize a number of things. #1 I am very cut off from world news.  I had only a vague notion that I should some how recognize this woman, but I couldn’t place her.  I’m going to assume I saw her picture online at some point.  #2 I was reminded of how geographically different Europe & Africa are to America.  My state is larger then most countries in Europe. #3 As much as I struggle and fuss with my own upbringing and life, I have been exceedingly blessed to live where I do, and have the family I have.  #4 Gratitude for having a God/Religion/Belief system that allows for individual thought & differing opinions.

I’m not much on memoirs, let alone political ones, but I would suggest this as a great starter in the genre.

