Tags

, , , , , , ,

About a month ago my dear friend C told me that she thought I needed to start Oil Cleansing my face.  For those that aren’t in the ‘know’ Oil Cleansing is pretty much what our Mothers and Grandmother did in the 30s, 40s, & 50s with their Ponds Cold Cream.  Except now we are doing it with natural oils instead of petroleum products!

So the idea is that oil dissolves oil, so by using the right oils you can clean your skin of the nasty oils and dirt that builds up on our faces without stripping our skin.  Depending on which web site you read you will get a dozen different ideas on which combination of oils to use.

After much debating(mostly with myself) I decided to start off cheap.  I bought 4 oz. bottles of Apricot Oil & Almond Oil, and an 8 oz. bottle of Castor Oil.  I mixed 2 oz. of Castor Oil with 1 oz. each of Apricot and Almond.  You can use what ever combination works well with you.  I’m sticking with “cheap” at the moment I spent just under $10 total for my 3 oils.

So here is how it works.

Step #1: Pull back your hair using a headband or hair tie.

Step #2: Shake your bottle of oil to make sure it’s mixed well, pour a small amount of oil into the palm of your hand and apply an even coat over your entire neck and face, keeping it out of your hairline.

Step #3: wet a clean washrag with the hottest water you can stand and let it rest against one area of your skin for anywhere from 30 seconds to 2 minutes which allows the oils to start to ‘melt’ for lack of a better term.

Step #4: Using the hot washrag to wipe the oil from your skin, taking special care around your hairline.

Repeat steps #3 & #4 until all the oil has been removed from your skin.

Your still will feel moisturized without feeling oily.  If it feels oily you need to repeat steps #3 & #4 again.

I scoffed at C because I have always had oily acne prone skin and the thought of adding more oil to my face sounded like turning my face into one giant zit.

But it worked!!  After doing the oil cleansing for a week the small spots on my forehead that never seem to go away and the few little spots along my hairline were GONE.  I did get one whitehead/zit in the hair on my eyebrow, but I’m 99% sure it’s because I didn’t get all the oil out of my eyebrow one day.

Due to life(and laziness) I haven’t oil cleansed since Saturday.  This is my makeup free face with at least a dozen spots!

wpid-img_20140917_114252_004.jpgThis has to be the WORST picture I have ever taken…I’m embarrassed to even posted it, but I’ll do follow up pictures which hopefully will be much better.

I’m going to start doing this morning and night and track my skin process 🙂  As I am aging and starting to really show it around my eyes I’m thinking about starting to add Evening Prime Rose Oil and Rose Hip Oil.  Will see how it goes 🙂 🙂

The biggest downside that I have found it is not a fast process.  You need to plan on it taking you at least 5 minutes!  It takes me about 7 minutes as I do my face, neck and upper shoulders/chest(where I get some sun exposure).

