Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Robin Williams, one of my favorite actors, committed suicide yesterday.  It’s sad.  But it also brings up thoughts and ideas about life, love, and spirituality.

Here is a man who had amazing success in his career, amassed wealth and fame, yet couldn’t find the support he needed to overcome his mental health problems.  In the end he felt so alone and worthless that it was better to end his life then try to continue on.

I read a number of sweet comments about Robin Williams on Facebook, but there were a number of ones that shook me and left me wondering about basic sensitivity among Christians.  The biggest one was “If the poor man had only believed in Jesus and prayed to Him for relief he would still be here with us.”  REALLY??!!???!!!!??  

I have never bought into the idea that Faith/Prayer magically fixes you.  If that were 100% true I would be a 6 foot, 160lb red head to rival Helen of Troy who never had food or abuse issues. Don’t get me wrong! I believe in the power of prayer and miracles!  But for every good Christian who prayed and was instantly healed from their terminal cancer there are a 100 or a 1000 good Christians who never have their pain removed, who never recover. 

My thoughts and prayers go out to Robin’s family, friends and fans.

