Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have a great job working with clients with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, formerly called Mental Retardation.  I do what is called “Supported Home Living” I provide what ever services are needed to keep a client in their own or family home instead of having to go into a group home or institution.

Right now my clients are all high functioning many of them actual live on their own and just need support with things like transportation and social outings because they have no one else to take them.

One of my favorites, I’m call him Harold, lives by himself and has a little Terrier mix dog named Buddy.  I always feel bad for Buddy because he really wants to be an inside dog, but Harold keeps him outside.  (graphic pictures included below this!)

When I went to see Harold on Monday July 7th I didn’t see Buddy in the backyard but figured he was sleeping in the shade where I couldn’t see him.  I was busy all week and didn’t go and spend time with Buddy until Thursday when I realized I could hear him barking at me, but I couldn’t see him.  I found him wound around some thick vines.  At first glance it looked like he had two “Hot Spot” bald patches on his side.  I figured I would take him home with me for the night, give him a bath and make sure the hot spots didn’t get worse.  But once I got him home and into the bath I quickly realized it was much worse.  Friday morning Buddy found himself at the Vet’s office being shaved down so we could see the extent of the damage.  The Vet confirmed that Buddy had been purposefully burned with oil or a chemical of some kind.  She guessed by the damage that someone poured BOILING OIL on the poor little fellow!

buddy1

The area between his shoulders is the pour site and as you can see the oil ran down towards his tail and down his sides.  The circular area there at his shoulders is actually a scab of burned skin and plasma and blood about 3/8 of an inch thick!  Since I didn’t discover poor Buddy until days after it happened he has developed a staph infection under the scabbed over areas.

This is Buddy on Friday the 11th after coming home from the Vet's Office.  The damage is actually more visible in the sunlight.

This is Buddy on Friday the 11th after coming home from the Vet’s Office. The damage is actually more visible in the sunlight.

We are a week out now and Buddy has been receiving daily hydrotherapy baths where we spray lukewarm water over the scabs trying to get them to loosen and come off so that the infection can clear up that is trapped under.  After a week of baths and love and getting to sleep inside on a bed this is Buddy’s back.

Buddy's back as of Saturday 7/19/14 It's is getting a bit better as they scabs are starting to come away and letting the infection out.  But they look worse!

Buddy’s back as of Saturday 7/19/14 It’s is getting a bit better as they scabs are starting to come away and letting the infection out. But they look worse!

We only have until Monday evening to get the scabs off.  Unfortunately I don’t think we are going to make it, so Buddy will have to have surgery to remove them and clean out the underlying infection.

I’ve tried to turn off my brain as to the ‘why’ of this attack.  Poor Buddy hasn’t done anything but ask to be loved.  He is a loyal sweet little dog.  Even if you could some how hate Harold how could you hurt a dog??

Buddy will not be going back to live with Harold until new housing arrangements can be made.  Until that time Buddy will be staying with me and my pack and Harold will be coming out for visitations 🙂

Since Buddy is not officially a part of a rescue we are having to pay for his care out of our own pocket.  To that extent we are going to set up a YouCaring.com fundraising page.  I will edit and post the link as soon as I have it!  Please share this as far and wide as you can.  Any money received over our $2000 goal will be given to rescue groups who take in abused and neglected dogs!

