Tags

, , , , , ,

For the last month we have been bottle feeding three separate litters of kittens! One litter we are fostering for our local animal shelter and the others are simply strays that we have saved. This is Royal(a royal pain in the butt).

image

Royal is a 5 wk old orange tabby kitten and we almost lost him last night! Royal has decided that enclosures are not for him and he has started climbing out to come and join us in what ever we are doing. 

image

Royal thinks he is a parrot

Last night when K came home, he was out and walking around the living room.  We left the front door open for a few minutes while we brought in groceries and the baby.  I saw Sadie the Basset/Lab come in the house and sniff Royal and walk away.  I walked outside to take a bag of groceries from K. When I came back I noticed that Royal had moved from the spot by the where he had been when I walked out. I didn’t think anything of it. After we had put everything away and settled in I noticed there was not a small ball of orange fluff anywhere in view.  So K starts looking, can’t find him in the house.  I can’t remember seeing Sadie leave the house, but she isn’t anywhere to be found either. 

image

Sadie the Bassett/Lab

Finally K goes to see if he some how made it out the door without one of us seeing and she calls Sadie to see if she is outside.  The next thing I know, K is RUNNING across the driveway yelling “Sadie NO, Sadie LEAVE IT” I’m just sure that Royal has been decapitated and eaten.  K returns with a very slimy but alive kitten.  Not sure if Sadie saw a poor little baby that needed a bath and a Mamma or a nom that she was savoring, but she picked him up and carried him outside when we weren’t paying attention. Royal was none the worse for wear, but he did get a bath to wash off the dog slobber!

image

