Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The judge signed off on the appointment of a social worker for the homestudy and a lawyer for Brenna.  I hadn’t realized that we needed court approval for either of those things.  I’m still not sure if the court actually appointed them or if my lawyer submitted the names and the Judge just approved them.

According to the orders we have to have the homestudy filed with the Court no later than May 1, 2014.  I’m going to call the Social Worker on Monday and get our first meeting lined up.

My lawyer is still saying that a dual adoption by Kirstin & I is possible.  An new acquaintance of mine practices family law and she was shocked that my lawyer would even attempt it.  She believes that the Judge will NOT sign the final paperwork and we will have to redo the homestudy for just one of us to adopt.

There is so much to do, and yet I’m immobilized.  Today was my day to get my bedroom set up, clean, disinfected etc.  Have I do a single thing?  I napped.  I took a wonderful 2 hour naps and have watched TV between bottles and diaper changes.  So now I’m going to have to do triple work tomorrow if I’m going to have a chance to get everything done before I have a Social Worker in the house!!

Kirstin is already talking about trying to figure out a way to have a 2nd baby soon…personally I think one is enough and being an only child is NOT the end of the world.  As much as I love my sister things would have been SO different if my parents had stopped after me…

Anyway..we have forward momentum on the adoption front!!

