Tags

, , , , , , ,

L and I have been best friends for 22 years.  It boggles my mind that I have had a friend that long, let alone a best friend.  We connected our Sophomore year of Academy(private high school) as the only Southern girls, both of us had Pastors for Daddies and a few other things in common.

One thing that we do not have in common are finances. While I have struggled over the years to make ends meet and recover from student loans, L, walked away from college debt free and landed one great paying job after another…like me she has never married and has no children….unlike me she has disposable income.

I know my finances are of my own making…and I really am getting them sorted out…but L’s ability to save tons of money allows her to go and do things that I just dream about.  I know that there are reasons our lives have worked out as they have and I try very hard not to be jealous.

Every couple of years L & I try and plan a vacation together.  Most years something happens and I don’t have the money to go…this year for L’s birthday she had planned to go to Hawaii…but it didn’t work out so she wants to take me on vacation here in Texas.  All I have to do is show up and pay for my own food…she will cover everything else.

My first reaction was: NO PITY VACATIONS 

But I started thinking…I would do the same thing for her if I had the means.  She wants to spend time with me, and come November we will both need to get away.

SO I’m going to try not to look a gift horse in the mouth, and just hope and pray that some day soon I’ll be able to repay her!

