Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tomorrow is my 37th birthday.  Mother & I are unsure of how this happened, as neither one of us is nearly this old 🙂 😛

My family has given me one of the best presents this year!  THEY went on vacation and left me at home.  Yes, this is actually a great present 🙂

As you know if you have read my entire blog, I share a home with my sister K, who is 19 months my junior.  I tend to be a very solitary person.  I have a handful of close friends and my family. I have ‘friends’ at work and who I know out in the community, but it is a very basic surface relationship and we don’t send any real time together.

My sister on the other hand feels a deep need to be around friends and family all the time.  She is not one to sit at home alone for any length of time.  Unfortunately, she doesn’t have the best skills when it comes to developing friendships, and feels that our family is enough for her…so I have been her main(sole) friend/companion over the last 8 years…this can be very tiring and there are times when I just want to be alone.

So this year when my Brother called and asked my parents if they would be willing to reschedule their trip to visit, it fit that they could go to Florida to visit over my Birthday weekend. Mother was reticent to leave me over my Birthday, but I assured her that it would not hurt my feelings in the slightest.

Birthdays have never been a huge deal for me, especially as I get older 🙂  Turning 37, holds no great milestone.  I don’t need a party and a cake to know that I’m loved.

So on Wednesday morning the Parents and my sister K headed to Tampa Florida for a week!  I have a whole week to be as solitary or social as I wish!!

No, I’m not planning on spending my Birthday by myself.  Chimp Haven(will open in a new tab/window) is open on my Birthday!!!!  I’ve been wanting to go and see Chimp Haven for years, but always remember to check their calendar AFTER they have an event that is open to the public…I’m so excited, they are only open about 6 times a year for the public, and for it happen on my birthday is very cool 🙂

So I’m going to get up at the crack of dawn(actually a bit before) and pick up my friends Candy & Josh and head to Chimp Haven.

I am very thankful to have a family willing to give me the gift of quiet/alone time for my birthday!!

