Tags

, , , , , ,

Today was day 59 in our Challenge…but as what has become usual, I’m behind! I have lots of excuses, but it really boils down to the Prophets making my head hurt!  I just couldn’t stay focused on the prophecies of Jeremiah & Ezekiel.  Ezekiel especially, wheels within wheels and all of that fun goodness!  But today I buckled down and made myself finish up 4 days of reading so now I’m just a single day behind again 🙂  I’ll be able to catch up again tomorrow.

Part of the reading I did today covered the first few chapters of Lamentations and it was very different to read it from the Complete Jewish Bible…Here is an example of what I mean Lamentations 3:13-18, first in NKJV & then from the CJB:

He has caused the arrows of His quiver To pierce my loins.[e] 14 I have become the ridicule of all my people— Their taunting song all the day. 15 He has filled me with bitterness, He has made me drink wormwood.

16 He has also broken my teeth with gravel, And covered me with ashes. 17 You have moved my soul far from peace; I have forgotten prosperity. 18 And I said, “My strength and my hope Have perished from the Lord.” Lamentations 3:13-18 NKJV

13 He has pierced my vital organs with shafts from his quiver. 14 I’m a laughingstock to all my people, the butt of their taunts all day long. 15 He has filled me with bitterness, sated me with wormwood.

16 He has broken my teeth with gravel and pressed me down into ashes. 17 I have been so deprived of peace, I have so forgotten what happiness is, 18 that I think, “My strength is gone, and so is my hope in Adonai.”

To me there seems to be more feeling and emotion in the CJB…it does make for a more interesting read I think 🙂

Just have to say again I LOVE having access to so many different versions of the Bible thanks to Biblegateway.com!  And with their new parallel option I can have the NKJV and the CJB side by side for comparison 🙂

