Tags

, , , , ,

This week has been uneventful as it applies to this reading challenge.  I’m finding that my reading goes a bit faster then other folks, but I think part of that is the translation I’m reading.  Using the parallel reader over at BibleGateway I realize that the Complete Jewish Bible takes out a lot of the flowery Old English prose and the reading is always shorter by 100-500 words then the NKJV.

Yesterday’s reading included the Book of Ruth.  As I was opening up the NKJV in parallel  my finger slipped and I clicked on The Message.   I was startled to see that in The Message, the book of Ruth starts out with: Once upon a time

wow, Ruth is a fairytale…Reminded me about how minor changes, even punctuation, in scripture can make a big difference in how the average person reads and understands it.

