Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have spent most of today reading Little Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal by Conor Grennan.  I’ve been trying to add more non-fiction into my reading, and this popped out at me when I was looking through a list of recommended books.  It chronicles Conor’s journey to an orphanage in Nepal that was suppose to be the start of a self-indulgent trip around the world.  While Conor did continue on his trip, the 18 boys and 2 girls that he left behind at the Little Princes Children’s Home never strayed from his thoughts and he returned.  We discover with Conor that most of these children have been sent from their families to find safety from the Maoist Army who were conscripting children into their ranks.  These families paid a trafficker to take their child to Katmandu where they were suppose to be educated and well cared for.  In reality the children were abandoned or sold for even more profit into the trafficker’s hands.  We follow along as Conor creates a non-profit organization to help stop child trafficking and restore these children to the familes who love them.  I won’t go into any more detail, but I highly encourage you to read it.

I highlighted and saved this section of the text to share with you  Conor has met his future wife, who is a Christian, and though he went to Church until he was 10, he does not identify himself as a Christian.  He goes and buys a Bible to read so that he can understand her beliefs, and regains the ones he didn’t think he had to start with.  His friend Farid, a Frenchman who has become a Buddhist while in Nepal discuss him buying the Bible:

Farid said, still smiling. “As I said, Conor—when you bought that Bible, I knew you were doing the right thing for you. We both saw that light, I think. We just saw different things in the light.”

I liked that idea. I also liked that both of us were completely convinced that what we had seen was the Truth, and we could speak about it so openly with each other. Under this one roof, we had a Buddhist, a Christian, and two dozen little Hindus. And we couldn’t be happier.

I love the idea behind that quote.  I can have my beliefs, live them, without condemning or looking down on those around me who do not.  Kind of like “Hate the sin, not the sinner”.

I have friends from all walks of life, and different religions.  I know it can be hard for us to accept the choices the other have made, because deep down we think WE have the only Truth.

I came to the decision in my teens that I wanted to show my faith and beliefs in my actions.   I often questioned if my faith was strong enough because of the discomfort I felt with actively witnessing to strangers.  I’ve never been comfortable with ringing a door bell and saying “Can I tell you about Jesus today?” to the stranger who answers.  But I also don’t want to be the closet Christian who reads her Bible every morning but doesn’t allow it show in her ethics or life.  So, I try to show the compassion, love, and hope of Christ that I believe in to reflect in what i do.  Being the sinner I am, it doesn’t always look like I want it to, but I try daily.

There are several people in my church who believe that I am committing a major sin by attending the Gay Pride Festival in Dallas on the 16th.  That by going I’m “condoning sin”.  I sit on the fence about Homosexuality itself being a sin…that’s one I’m going let God tell me about when I get to Heaven.  I have met enough Gay & Lesbian individuals to believe that in the majority of cases homosexuality is a genetic condition they are born with.  I have met some where it was a decidedly chosen lifestyle after very traumatic and tragic experiences with the opposite gender.  But if I agree with their lifestyle or not, every human being who draws in air deserves my best manners and good graces.

I choose to attend the Gay Pride Festival for the dogs 🙂  My dogs don’t care if you are black, white or purple as long as you give good belly rubs and have treats.  They don’t care of you love men, women, or both.  They just need love.  So I attend the festival and treat the people I meet with respect and kindness and hope that they can help me and help my dogs 🙂

