I have a love affair going on with Hummus at the moment.  Back in July I started an ill fated 90 day juice fast that lasted 5 days.  I’m still juicing, but I’m eating high protein, moderate carbs and low cal.  Every day for the last two weeks I have made fresh hummus and made that for my main meal of the day.

Hummus is so versatile!  I’ve only found a few things that don’t mix well with it.  My current favorite is smoked tomato and it is so easy, here is the basic recipe.

Ingredients:
  • 2 cups cooked/prepared chick peas (1 1/2 cans – if using canned save the liquid from one can)
  • 3 T. lemon juice
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 T garlic powder
  • 1 T. liquid smoke
  • 1/2 small can of tomato paste OR 1 small can of tomato sauce
  • 1/4-1/2 C. water or reserve juice from canned chick peas
  • 1T olive oil

In the bowl of my little Ninja food processor I put 2 cups of cooked chick peas(about 1 1/2 cans) I prefer to use dried chick peas and cook them myself, but you can use canned, it is easier:)

Start with only 1/4 tsp. of salt and a 1/4 cup of water/liquid

add all ingredients to the food processor, and blend away!

I stop and scrap down the sides and take after about 45 seconds.  Depending on the brand of peas an how  they were cooked you may need extra salt and water add until you get the taste and consistency you want!  I like mine a little on the looser side, think enough to stick to a chip or tortilla, but thin enough I don’t feel like I need a knife to spread it!

I find that the liquid smoke easily replaces the tahini that is normally found in hummus…and it is WAY cheaper lol

It is fun and easy to play with the ingredients…just learn from my mistakes…brewer’s yeast(nutritional yeast) and balsamic vinegar are not good additions and better left to other recipes 🙂

