Tags

, ,

As a teenager, I feel in love with old movies.  One of my favorite movies was/is Doctor Dolittle.  the REAL one, not the one with Eddie Murphy.    There is the song called “Like Animals” where Rex Harrison is singing about how people treat animals badly, or use them to describe unpleasant things.

I woke up this morning humming this song, with this part going over and over in my brain:

WHY SHOULD WE SAY “TREAT HIM LIKE A DOG”?
WHY SHOULD WE SAY “WORKING LIKE A HORSE”?
WHY SHOULD WE SAY “EATING LIKE A HOG”?
WHEN WHAT WE MEAN IS “EATING LIKE A MAN”!
DON’T WE? OF COURSE!

A MAN OF ILL-REPUTE IS CALLED A WEASEL OR A RAT.
A WOMAN YOU DISLIKE BECOMES A VIXEN OR A CAT.
A FAMILY THAT IS BLESSED WITH HEALTHY
REPRODUCTIVE HABITS
OCCASIONS THE REMARK “WELL YOU KNOW THEM –
THEY BREED LIKE RABBITS!”

“HE’S AS STUBBORN AS A MULE!”
“HE’S AS STUPID AS AN OX!”
“HE’S AS SLIMY AS A SNAKE!”
“HE’S AS CRAFTY AS A FOX!”

Remarks like that really get my goat!

WHY CAN’T WE SAY “NOBLE AS A FROG”?
WHY DON’T WE SAY “HEALTHY AS A HEN”?
TRUE WE SAY”DEVOTED AS A DOG” –
BUT WHAT WE SHOULD SAY IS “CHIC AS A GIRAFFE!”
“PRETTY AS A PIG!” EH?
THAT’LL BE THE BIG DAY,
WON’T IT? BUT WHEN?……BUT WHEN?……BUT WHEN……?

It was this song(in part) that made me pick my blog name.  Have you ever really LOOKED at a Hippo?  Hippos are smart, dangerous, fast and strong.  What is wrong with being a hippo?

I’ve been called all sorts of things through the years.  The top 5 are elephant, hippo, cow, pig, and last but not least, whale.  What makes people want to use these animals to put down other people? 

I’ve been blessed to see whales in the wild, they are beautiful, graceful, cunning, and at times deadly.  Again…What’s wrong with being a whale??

It use to bother me when strangers I didn’t even know would call me a fat hippo or whale.  Not any more, these are beautiful, strong, and graceful creatures, and I would happily be one!

